Introducing…

Our baby girl a half a world away…

Image

Ge Ge = “princess”

Isn’t she a beauty? I know I’m biased but my heart skips a beat every time I lay eyes on this image. Love at first sight? You bet. I’ve shared the story of the moment we learned of her existence here. But what I didn’t share is what happened next…

 

You see, when our children pray, they seem to have a direct line to God. They pray with a simple and confident heart that is something to envy. Four years ago, they prayed their baby sister into existence but this time, our 8-year-old’s prayer got a little more specific. A little more…gutsy. Sam deeply desired another sibling but he decided one day that it would be most efficient if God were to send more than just one at a time.

He wanted twins.

Every morning and night during prayer time for the past 2 years, we would pray for “our baby in China” but our Sam would always…always…add, “or twins!” It got to be comical. Sibling sets are only occasionally available for adoption from China but twins are a rare thing. We told him that odds were that we would likely be blessed with just one but soon even our 3-year old started chanting praying for “Babies-in-China…Babies-in-China”. Babies. Not baby. Always in the plural.

So as we prepared our paperwork for the home study and dossier, we decided to file the necessary paperwork that would approve us for two children…just in case.

The night we received the referral for Baby Girl, we had the pleasure of calling our 3 children into the room and telling them the good news and showing them her picture. They were ecstatic of course but there was an ever so slight look of disappointment on Sam’s face. His first question after sharing the news with him was, “So it’s not twins then?” No, Baby. Not twins. Not this time. He swallowed this news down but true to his sanguine nature, the next moment proceeded to dance around the room with joy with his siblings.

The following morning however, I was on our agency’s website and happened to click the “Waiting Child Profiles” list. Why? I’m not sure. But I attribute it to the fact that I was still floating from the intoxicating news of the night before. The ‘Special Focus List’ is a list of children who have been waiting longer than others to find a family, often because they have multiple or more significant special needs. Anyhow. I Clicked.

Scroll. Scroll. Scroll.

I gasped.

There he was. My eyes locked on his face. His big dark eyes pierced right into my heart. He had some “limb differences” listed but all I saw was him. I can’t explain it. Maybe those who have walked this walk know what I’m talking about. But in the span of about .2 seconds, he was born in my heart and I knew I was staring at my son.

And his birthdate? 1 day after Baby Girl’s.

Was is possible? Were these Sam’s ‘twins’?

Image

Ming Jie = “bright hero”

I immediately showed his picture to Mike who gave me the look that I know so well. The look that says, “You are nuts…but that’s why I love you.” He agreed to take the idea to prayer, but that little face had already imprinted itself indelibly into my mind and heart and I was already dreading…grieving the possibility of this not panning out. Waiting patiently is not my forte but I had forced myself to stay grounded and realistic until we were both certain. So helplessly had I fallen that I could only pray, “God heal my heart if the answer really is no”. We prayed for guidance and discussed the option of bringing two children home with our agency. There were many things that had to fall into place just perfectly. It seemed impossible. A small mountain would have to move. An already complicated process would get a little more complicated. God would need to speak to us very clearly.

And He did just that.

The discernment process that occurred over the course of those next 48 hours deserves it’s own post. But suffice it to say, the message was clear: “this is your son…My grace will be sufficient…go get him”. These past three weeks have been frenzied and blessedly chaotic as we dashed around Annapolis, the US Secretary of State office, the Chinese consulate and FedEx getting the necessary documents together. What should have taken 2 months took us only 2 weeks.

Mountain = moved.

And so friends, as of Friday night, we were officially given permission to announce that we are bringing home not one but TWO children from China. Born in the same province, just 3 hours away and 1 day apart from each other. They don’t know each other now but they will soon be united by more than just a common heritage and history. We are soon to be a family of 7 made up of Irish, English, Scottish, German, Scandinavian, Guatemalan and now Chinese heritage. God has knit our family together from across the continents and now across the hemispheres.

And I have little doubt that it’s all because Sam–whose name means “God hears”–had his prayer answered.

Please join me in praying that the rest of the process goes smoothly as we prepare to welcome our Chinese twins: Mary and Joseph.

Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 6.33.18 AM

18 thoughts on “Introducing…

  1. Oh Annie. I am just in tears over here. Marianna and Joseph are simply beautiful. Can’t wait for your Gotcha Day!

  2. Thank you! Our heads are still spinning and our feet have yet to touch ground. We have a long road ahead and would appreciate any and all prayers for a smooth and swift remainder in the process and travel.

  3. So happy for you all. They are ADORABLE! I hope everything moves quickly as possible and they will be in your arms soon!

  4. Ah, Annie! So so happy for you guys! They are the cutest little babies! I can already envision one of each hip! God is so good! Hoping and praying for your adoption and that it continues to move along quickly and smoothly. xo!

  5. What a beautiful story! Congratulations to you all! I am so happy for you and can’t wait to hear of their homecoming! God bless you.

  6. Tear of joy as I read this, Annie! SO very thrilled for you and your family! My sister and I prayed for twins also when our Momma remarried….nine months later, Billy and Ktie were born. God hears His kiddos. THank you for being willing to share a glimpse into your journey.

  7. Annie, I love their names! Both the names you’ve given them and the ones they were given at birth. Wonderful. If I were you I would occasionally call that sweet heart Ge-Ge as I kissed her chubby cheeks. Princess indeed!

  8. Tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat! God is SO GOOD! I love the prayers of your children! ❤

Leave a Reply

